Skip navigation

In my previous post on this subject I described in detail an unpleasant run-in with an aggressive motorist in downtown Ferguson on Saturday, July 24, 2010 at about 9 am. I was able to snap photos of him and his vehicle after I’d followed him into the Ferguson Hardware parking lot on my bike shortly after he sounded his horn to indicate he wanted me out of his way.

He claimed I was “in the middle of the road” and I needed a license to operate a bicycle and later we both went to the nearby Ferguson Police Station where we were interviewed by a police officer.

I just learned that this same motorist was the subject of a complaint filed on June 3 with the Ferguson Police Department by another experienced cyclist, Gerry Noll. Here’s the e-mail I received from Gerry:

Martin,

After looking at the pix I realized that I had recently reported this same guy on July 3 to the police using the online reporting system! Same license plate, same truck. My report states it in text, yours show it by picture.

My report is #55 and says:

DESCRIPTION OF INCIDENT:

While bicycling east on Hudson Rd. an F-150 pickup truck, MO license plate 9YA-585, approached from behind and gave a long horn blast. The truck then passed me on the blind curve. He was fully in the westbound lane while I was fully in the eastbound lane as we went around the curve.

PLEASE PROVIDE ANY OTHER INFORMATION THAT MAY BE OF USE TO THE POLICE DEPARTMENT OR WHICH IS NOT COVERED HERE:

I tried to state only the facts without interpretation in the description of the incident. I believe that is enough to show that the pickup was being driven in an illegal and unsafe manner. However the actions of the driver seemed to be intended to intimidate. The long horn blast conveyed the message “get out of my way”. I waved to acknowledge the horn but certainly didn’t get out of the road. As the pickup rounded the curve it slowed while it was next to me and matched my pace for a short distance, a maneuver I interpreted as another attempt to intimidate. I ignored the driver while he rode parallel to me.
I had also separately complained to Lt. Nabzdyk about this guy and also the fact that the online reports are not being followed up.

I’ll be sending the Lt. a followup note citing your incident and the fact that this guy now has a documented history of aggressive behavior towards cyclists. I’ll copy all.

Thanks!

Gerry

One Comment

  1. Martin,

    Sounds like the PD needs to use more due diligence and speak with the gentleman or consider a citation.


Leave a Reply

